Africa's #1 Contemporary Music & Entertainment Website

#VGMA2017 : Runtown Emerges African Artiste of the Year [See Other Winning Lists]


The 2017 edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards was held on Saturday, April 8, at the Accra International Conference Centre

The award show saw the Nigerian singer Runtown, picking up an award at the ceremony as African artiste of the year. Thumbs up to the ‘Mad Over You’ crooner.


1 See the full list of winners:

2 Artiste of the Year

Joe Mettle (WINNER)

3 Vodafone Popular Song of the Year

Christy – Dobble (WINNER)
U x Me – Joey B
R N S – Sarkodie
Solo – Article Wan
People Dey – Stonebwoy
Kaabuame – EL
Bie Gya – Criss Waddle ft. Stonebwoy
Sweetie Pie – Kofi Kinaata
Alhaji – VVIP ft. Patoranking
Yewo Nyame a Yewo Adze – Nacee Ft. Ernest Opoku
Go Low – Flowking Stone

4 Album of the Year

The Counselor I – Nacee (WINNER)
Bar 3 – EL
Nowhere Cool – M.anifest
Gifted – Flowking Stone
Sounds of Africa – Sonnie Badu

5 Best Collaboration of the Year

Alhaji – VVIP ft. Patoranking (WINNER)
Yewo Nyame a Yewo Adze – Nacee ft. Ernest Opoku
Confirm Rmx – Medikal Ft. Sarkodie
Bie Gya – Criss Waddle ft. Stonebwoy
Nwansina – Ras Kuuku ft. Luther
Samba – Guru ft. Singlet

6 African Artiste of the Year

Mr. Eazi
Runtown (WINNER)
Nathaniel Bassey

7 Best New Artiste/Discovery of the Year

Nii Funny
Fancy Gadam (WINNER)
Article Wan
Feli Nuna
Rudebowy Ranking

8 Best Rapper of the Year

Flowking Stone – Fire Bon Dem Rmx
EL – Love God
Medikal – Connect
Yaa Pono (Ponobiom) – Mind on Money
M.anifest – 100% (WINNER)
Sarkodie – Fire Bon Dem Rmx

9 Best Group of the Year


10 Hiplife/Hiphop Artiste of the Year

Flowking Stone
Sarkodie (WINNER)
Joey B

11 Best Male Vocalist

Ogya Mensah – Get Serious
Afriyie – Here to stay
Joe Mettle – Onwanwani (WINNER)
Akwaboah – Hello
Sonnie Badu – Still You Reign
Ernest Opoku – Yewo Nyame a Yewo Adze

12 Best Female Vocalist

Adina – Too Late (WINNER)
Becca – Beshiwo
MzVee – Nobody Else
Piesie Esther – Agye Won Nsem
Petrah – My Man

Record of the Year

Me ne woa – Nacee
Hello – Akwaboah ft. Sarkodie
Too Late – Adina (WINNER)
U x Me – Joey B
Motromodwo – Trigmatic ft. A.I

13 Best Music Video of the Year

Leno – Wiyaala (Dir. Charlotte Appleton)
Small Small – Okyeame Kwame Ft. MzVee (Dir. Phamous Philms) (WINNER)
Yewo Nyame a Yewo Adze – Nacee ft. Ernest Opoku (Dir. Mcwillies)
Rapping Drums – Flowking Stone (Dir. Xbills Ebenezer)
W’ani Aba – M.anifest ft. Bisa Kdei (Dir. Solomon Director)
Nyedzilo – Edem ft. Rekaado Banks (Dir. Phamous Philms)

14 Songwriter of the Year

Joe Mettle – Onwanwani
Kill Beatz – Too Late
Kofi Kinaata – Confession (WINNER)
Nacee – Yewo Nyame A Yewo Adze

15 Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year

Stonebwoy (WINNER)
Ras Kuuku
Rudebwoy Ranking

16 Highlife Artiste of the Year

Bisa Kdei
Kofi Kinaata (WINNER)

17 Gospel Artiste of the Year

Joe Mettle (WINNER)
Piesie Esther
Sonnie Badu
Jeshrun Okyere

18 Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year

People Dey – Stonebwoy (WINNER)
Nwansina – Ras Kuuku Ft. Luther
Gborgborvor – Gallaxy Ft. Stonebwoy
Kupe – Ebony
Yonnah – Samini ft. Luther
Pain Dem – Rudebwoy Ranking
Arostor – Kaakie Ft. Yaa Pono

Hiphop Song of the Year

God Mc – M.anifest (WINNER)
Trumpet – Sarkodie ft. Teephlow, Koo Ntakra, Strongman, Donzy, Medikal & Pappy Kojo
Lalafalama – EL
Confirm RMX – Medikal Ft. Sarkodie
Egboame RMX – Edem ft. Cabum, Teephlow, Ayat, Gemini, Medikal. Mac M, Darko & Bebelino
Tension – Okyeame Kwame ft. Cabum, Medikal & Sister Debbie

19 Afropop Song of the Year

Kaa Bu Ame – EL (WINNER)
Dance for Me – Eugy ft. Eazi
Solo – Article Wan
U x Me– Joey B
Too Risky – Medikal ft. Sister Debbie
Too Late – Adina
Grind – Vision DJ ft. A.I

20 Hiplife Song of the Year

Samba – Guru Ft. Singlet
Club – Donzy Ft. Piesie & Sarkodie
Go Low – Flowking Stone (WINNER)
RNS – Sarkodie
Biegya – Criss Waddle ft. Stonebwoy
Sweetie Pie – Kofi Kinaata
Alhaji – VVIP

21 Highlife Song of the Year

Jwe – Bisa Kdei
Confession – Kofi Kinaata (WINNER)
Beshiwo – Becca ft. Bisa Kdei
Mintse Bo – Wisa Greid
Christy – Dobble
Bokor Bokor – Kill Beatz ft. Mugeez & Fuse ODG

22 Gospel Song of the Year

Yewo Nyame a Yewo adze – Nacee ft. Ernest Opoku (WINNER)
Change Over – Mary Agyemang
Mewo Jesus – Mabel Okyere
Still You Reign – Sonnie Badu
Healing Stream – Jeshrun Okyere Ft. Nathaniel Bassey
Agye Won Nsam – Piesie Esther

23 Unsung Artiste

Kwame Eugene (WINNER)
AJ Lyricx
Afezi Perry
CJ Biggerman
Deon Boakye
Cina Soul

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You Might Also LIke

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More